Pilot Mountain Sausage Balls

Let’s kick-off the holiday season with one of my favorites (have you noticed I have a lot of favorites?),  Pilot Mountain Sausage Balls.  Growing up I just called them sausage balls but quickly realized when I moved to Pilot Mountain that they were mistaken for the other sausage balls, you know the ones with bisquick and cheese.  Anyway, this is what I grew up on.  Mom still makes them every Thanksgiving and I love to make them around the holidays.

Pilot Mountain Sausage Balls

1 lb. sausage
1 small pkg (8 oz) Pepperidge Farm Herb Stuffing Mix
1 lb. bacon

Mix sausage and stuffing mix.  You’ve got to get your hands in there and really mix it up!  Form balls and wrap with 1/2 slice of bacon.  Place in a baking pan, preferably with a rack.  Bake at 400 for approx. 45 min, turning over halfway through.  Make sure bacon is cooked.

Take these to your next party and I bet you don’t bring home any leftovers!  🙂

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “Pilot Mountain Sausage Balls”

  1. ~ashley~ Says:

    Yummmm…these are one of my favorites by far!!!!

  2. Jessica Says:

    Hey Tiffany! Love the new picture! I am trying to make your sausage balls today for a family get together on Saturday and I have a few questions. 1. How large do you make the balls? 2. Do you think they would turn out just as good if frozen and then cooked? Would you thaw them first? I may just have to experiment and see. 3. If I cooked them today, would they be fresh by Saturday evening? 4. If I just refrigerate them until Saturday instead of freezing them, do you think that would be better?

    • oneyearatatime Says:

      Hey Jess, I’m guessing about an 1″ or so. I know that Mom has made them up a day or two before and then cooked them so I think you would be fine making them today and then cooking them on Saturday. Not sure about the freezing, but I would probably set them out prior to baking them so they will at least warm up.
      Hope I’ve helped! Let me know how they go! 🙂

      • Jessica Says:

        No, I didn’t get a message to my inbox saying you had replied. I ended up just putting them in the fridge and cooking them Sat. (made them Thursday). THey turned out fine; however they aren’t for me. I have to have my bacon extra crispy. I tried a few out to begin with to see what they would be like extra crispy and they were too dry. I made the rest normally but didn’t eat in since I don’t like the least hint of what I call soft bacon. Everyone else said they were good, though!

Leave a Reply

